I Want To ...

Bureaus & Divisions

The St. Charles County Sheriff’s Department offers a number of services through our different Operational Law Enforcement Bureaus to ensure the health, welfare, and safety of our citizens, businesses, and community. A brief description of our different Operational Law Enforcement Bureaus are listed below. If you do not see what you are looking for, please email  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

Our mission for every member of this department is to consistently perform their duties, and find ways to affirmatively promote, and deliver a feeling of security, safety and quality service to members of our community.

The Sheriff’s Department is lead by four Captains, for each of the following Operational Law Enforcement Bureaus.  Throughout each of these Law Enforcement Bureaus we work to provide professional and responsive law enforcement services to St. Charles County.   


Bureau of Administrative Services - 636.949.3001
This Bureau is comprised of three Divisions: Civil Process, Records, and Management Services. The Bureau is comprised of approximately 12 Commissioned Personnel and 22 Non-Commissioned Personnel. Civil Process is responsible for the service of court documents within the boundaries of St. Charles County.  Records serves as a repository for all records managed and generated by the Sheriff’s Department. The division of Management Services is further divided into seven units ranging from Professional Standards to Training.

Bureau of Criminal Investigations - 636.949.3020
This Bureau is comprised of four Divisions, Criminalistics Labatory Division, Criminal Investigations Division, Forensic Services Division, and Cyber Crime Division. The Bureau is comprised of approximately 21 Commissioned Personnel and 16 Non-Commissioned Personel. The Criminal Investigations Division has three specialiszed units, Crimes Against Persons Unit, Property Crimes Unit, and a Task Force Unit.  Forensic Services is divided into five units, Crime Scene Investigation Unit, Evidence Management, Latent Print Examinations and Sexual Offender Compliance. The Criminalistics Labatory provides forensic analysis of evidence submitted from law enforcement agencies in and around St. Charles County, Missouri. The Cyber Crime Division is tasked primarily with conducting the forensic analysis of computers suspected to contain evidence of crimes and assisting detectives in conducting investigations in which computers are involved.

Bureau of Field Operations - 636.949.3030
This Bureau is comprised of two Divisions, Patrol and Communications both which operate 24 hours a day, seven days a week with three different shifts. The Patrol Division is comprised of approximately 84 Commissioned Personnel and 20 Non-Commissioned Personel who are the backbone of our department, serving and supporting St. Charles County by responding to a variety of calls for service and providing crime prevention by actively patroling neighborhhods and business areas. They are also responsible for providing full time Law Enfocement Patrol Services to the municipalities of Dardenne Paraire and Weldon Springs.

Bureau of Special Enforcement - 636.949.7569
This Bureau is comprised of six Divisions, Court Services, Community Education, Emergency Management, Firearms, Fugitive Unit, and Special Operations. The Bureau is comprised of approximately 38 Commissioned Personnel and 14 Non-Commissioned Personnel. Court Services provides a safe and orderly environment throughout the St. Charles County Courthouse. Community Education is responsible for School Resource Officers and the D.A.R.E. (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) Program. Emergency Management promotes unified planning and coordinates the county wide response in the event of natural or man-made disasters. Firearms is a staff of department firearms instructors responsible for the training of all department personnel. Fugitive Unit is a specialized unit with a focus of searching out and apprehending wanted suspects evading arrest warrants. Special Operations is further divided into the following specialized units, St. Charles County Regional SWAT, Metro Air Unit, Bomb Disposal Unit, and Crisis Negotiators.

Tom Neer
101 Sheriff Dierker Ct
O'Fallon, MO 63366
Ph: 636.949.0809
Fx: 636.949.3078
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
Office Hours:
Monday - Friday
8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Patrol Request
File Police Report